2013 Hugo Awards Ceremony to be Broadcast Live

LoneStarCon 3, the 2013 World Science Fiction Convention, in partnership with Ustream, will broadcast the 2013 Hugo Awards Ceremony live and advertising-free on Sunday, September 1, 2013.

The ceremony will be held in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Rivercenter hotel in downtown San Antonio, starting at 8 PM Central Daylight Time (9 PM EDT, 6 PM PDT). LoneStarCon 3 Toastmaster Paul Cornell, himself a past Hugo Award winner and multiple Hugo Award nominee, will host the ceremony.

In addition to the live video broadcast via Ustream at, the official Hugo Awards site will provide live text-only (lower bandwidth required) coverage via CoverItLive. As in previous years, the CoverItLive event will be hosted by former Worldcon Co-Chairman Kevin Standlee and two-time Campbell Award Nominee Mur Lafferty.

LoneStarCon 3 has partnered with Ustream, the leading video technology platform for live business communications, to provide this exclusive, ad-free broadcast, enabling science fiction fans around the world to participate in this prestigious event without interruption. This means that issue with automated ‘bots that affected last year’s broadcast has been dealt with, and the ceremony is a “whitelisted” event on Ustream.

For more information and the full announcement, see the LoneStarCon 3 web site.

This entry was posted in Announcements, Award Ceremonies. Bookmark the permalink.