1939 Retro-Hugo Awards

2014 Hugo Award TrophyPresented at: Loncon 3, London, United Kingdom, August 14, 2014

Hosts: Mary Robinette Kowal, Rob Shearman.

Base design: Marina Gélineau

Awards Administration: Dave McCarty, David Gallaher, Vincent Docherty, Ben Yalow

Best Novel (208 nominating ballots)

  • The Sword in the Stone, T. H. White (Collins)
  • Out of the Silent Planet, C. S. Lewis (The Bodley Head)
  • Galactic Patrol, E. E. Smith (Astounding Stories, February 1938)
  • The Legion of Time, Jack Williamson (Astounding Science-Fiction, July 1938)
  • Carson of Venus, Edgar Rice Burroughs (Argosy, February 1938)

Best Novella (125 nominating ballots)

  • “Who Goes There?”, Don A Stuart [John W. Campbell] (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1938)
  • “The Time Trap”, Henry Kuttner (Marvel Science Stories, November 1938)
  • “Sleepers of Mars”, John Beynon [John Wyndham] (Tales of Wonder, March 1938)
  • “A Matter of Form”, H. L. Gold (Astounding Science-Fiction, December 1938)
  • Anthem, Ayn Rand (Cassell)

Best Novelette (80 nominating ballots)

  • “Rule 18”, Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science-Fiction, July 1938)
  • “Pigeons From Hell”, Robert E. Howard (Weird Tales, May 1938)
  • “Werewoman”, C. L. Moore (Leaves #2, Winter 1938)
  • “Hollywood on the Moon”, Henry Kuttner (Thrilling Wonder Stories, April 1938)
  • “Dead Knowledge”, Don A. Stuart [John W. Campbell] (Astounding Stories, January 1938)

Best Short Story (108 nominating ballots)

  • “How We Went to Mars”, Arthur C. Clarke (Amateur Science Stories, March 1938)
  • “Helen O’Loy”, Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction, December 1938)
  • “Hollerbochen’s Dilemma”, Ray Bradbury (Imagination!, January 1938)
  • “Hyperpilosity”, L. Sprague de Camp (Astounding Science-Fiction, April 1938)
  • “The Faithful”, Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction, April 1938)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (137 nominating ballots)

  • The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells. Written by Howard Koch & Anne Froelick; Directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater of the Air, CBS)
  • R. U. R. by Karel Čapek. Produced by Jan Bussell (BBC)
  • Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne. Written & Directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater of the Air, CBS)
  • A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Written & Directed by Orson Welles (The Campbell Playhouse, CBS)
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker. Written by Orson Welles and John Houseman; Directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater of the Air, CBS)

Best Editor, Short Form (99 nominating ballots)

  • John W. Campbell
  • Farnsworth Wright
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Mort Weisinger
  • Walter H. Gillings

Best Professional Artist (86 nominating ballots)

  • Virgil Finlay
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Frank R. Paul
  • Alex Schomburg
  • H. W. Wesso

Best Fanzine (42 nominating ballots)

  • Imagination! edited by Forrest J Ackerman, Morojo, and T. Bruce Yerke
  • Novae Terrae edited by Maurice K. Hanson
  • Tomorrow edited by Douglas W. F. Mayer
  • Fantascience Digest edited by Robert A. Madle
  • Fantasy News edited by James V. Taurasi

Best Fan Writer (50 nominating ballots)

  • Ray Bradbury
  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Donald A. Wollheim
  • Harry Warner, Jr.

1,307 valid final ballots (1,295 online, 12 paper) were cast by the members of Loncon 3.

For the full breakdown of voting and nomination see here (PDF).

233 valid nominating ballots (226 electronic and 7 paper) were received and counted from the members of LoneStarCon 3, Loncon 3 and Sasquan.

The 2014 Worldcon solicited nominations for the 1939 Retrospective Hugo Awards for the same categories as the 2014 Hugo Awards. Categories in which there were an insufficient number of nominations to justify staging the category were dropped, per the provisions of the WSFS Constitution.

Direct administrative questions about the 1939 Retrospective Hugo Awards to the Loncon 3 Hugo Administration Subcommittee.

UStream video coverage of the 1939 Retro-Hugo Awards Nomination Announcement

12 Responses to 1939 Retro-Hugo Awards

  1. Pingback: 2014 Hugo Awards Finalists Announced | The Hugo Awards

  2. Pingback: Awards: the Hugo nominations are out - Forbidden Planet Blog

  3. Pingback: Hugo Nominees Announced! | Mountain Was Here

  4. Pingback: Awards! Free books! Awards! | SpecFicNZ

  5. Pingback: Hugo Award Nominees Announced. | Fantasy Faction

  6. Pingback: Hugos, 2014 (Where my vote is going) | Carrie Cuinn

  7. Steve broad says:

    My Dad suggested a story for me to read years ago that I think was written in the 30’s. I don’t remember the title or the author, but it was a story of a blind minstrel or poet that hooked rides planet to planet, telling stories in exchange for passage. On his last trip there was a reactor malfunction and he saves the ship by exposing himself to the radiation.
    Anyone know the story or the author.
    Thank you

  8. Pingback: Spotlight on the Retro Hugo Awards | J. C. Conway

  9. Pingback: 1939 Retro Hugo Awards | The Relentless Reader

  10. Rich Lynch says:

    I’ll point out that there were no such things as fanzines in 1939. The term wasn’t invented until 1940. In 1939 they were referred to as Fan Magazines. The keepers of the Long List should consider adding a footnote about that.

  11. Water under the bridge now, of course, but I find it a bit amusing that the winning short story (Clarke’s “How We Went to Mars”) appeared in my father’s Amateur Science Stories and yet it was his (my dad’s) Tomorrow which was nominated for Best Fanzine (which, unsurprisingly, went to Forry Ackerman’s Imagination!).

    Perhaps A.S.S. (unfortunate acronym, that) didn’t qualify as a fanzine.

Leave a Reply to Alastair Mayer Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.