2017 Hugo Awards

Presented at: Worldcon 75, Helsinki, Finland, August 11, 2017


Base design:

Awards Administration:

The 2017 Hugo Awards will be presented on the evening of Friday, August 11, 2017 at a ceremony at Worldcon 75, the 75th World Science Fiction Convention. Administration of the 2017 Hugo Awards is exclusively the responsibility of Worldcon 75. The Hugo Awards are not administered by the Hugo Awards Web Site.

Nominating ballots were issued in early 2017. Any person with a voting membership (including all supporting and attending members) of the 2016, 2017, and 2018 Worldcons as of the end of the day on January 31, 2017 was eligible to make up to five nominations in each category. Nominations are now closed and the Administrators are tallying the nominations. The final ballot will be announced after the Administrators have determined who those finalists are, confirmed their eligibility, and contacted them to give them an opportunity to decline nominations.

The categories on the 2017 Hugo Award Ballot are:

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Related Work

Best Graphic Story

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Best Editor, Short Form

Best Editor, Long Form

Best Professional Artist

Best Semiprozine

Best Fanzine

Best Fancast

Best Fan Writer

Best Fan Artist

Worldcon 75 has elected to exercise its authority under the WSFS Constitution to add an additional category for 2017 only:

Best Series
A multi-volume science fiction or fantasy story, unified by elements such as plot, characters, setting, and presentation, appearing in at least three (3) volumes consisting in total of at least 240,000 words by the close of the previous calendar year, at least one volume of which was published in the previous calendar year. If any series and a subset series thereof both receive sufficient nominations to appear on the final ballot, only the version which received more nominations shall appear.

Note that there is a pending amendment to the WSFS Constitution that, if ratified by the 2017 WSFS Business Meeting, will add Best Series as a new permanent category. The definition above is based on the wording of the proposed new category.

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2014 or 2015, sponsored by Dell Magazines. (Not a Hugo Award, but administered along with the Hugo Awards.)

See Hugo Award Categories for a more detailed discussion of the categories. The technical definitions of the categories are in the current version of the WSFS Constitution, and those technical definitions take priority in case of any ambiguity. Decisions regarding eligibility are made by the current year’s Hugo Administration Subcommittee, whose decisions are final in all cases.