1996 Hugo Awards

1996 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: L.A. Con III, Anaheim, California, August 29 – September 2, 1996

Toastmaster: Connie Willis

Base design: Barry Workman, Mike Donahue and Shawn Crosby

Awards Administration: Mike Glyer, David Bratman, Seth Goldberg

Best Novel

  • The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson [Bantam Spectra, 1995]
  • The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter [HarperPrism, 1995]
  • Brightness Reef by David Brin [Bantam Spectra, 1995]
  • The Terminal Experiment (alt: Hobson’s Choice) by Robert J. Sawyer [HarperPrism, 1995; Analog mid-Dec 1994,Jan,Feb,Mar 1995]
  • Remake by Connie Willis [Bantam Spectra, 1995]

Best Novella

  • “The Death of Captain Future” by Allen Steele [Asimov’s Oct 1995]
  • “A Woman’s Liberation” by Ursula K. Le Guin [Asimov’s Jul 1995; Four Ways to Forgiveness (HarperPrism), 1995]
  • “Bibi” by Mike Resnick and Susan Shwartz [Asimov’s mid-Dec 1995]
  • “A Man of the People” by Ursula K. Le Guin [Asimov’s Apr 1995; Four Ways to Forgiveness (HarperPrism), 1995]
  • “Fault Lines” by Nancy Kress [Asimov’s Aug 1995]

Best Novelette

  • “Think Like a Dinosaur” by James Patrick Kelly [Asimov’s Jun 1995]
  • “When the Old Gods Die” by Mike Resnick [Asimov’s Apr 1995]
  • “The Good Rat” by Allen Steele [Analog mid-Dec 1995]
  • “Must and Shall” by Harry Turtledove [Asimov’s Nov 1995]
  • “Luminous” by Greg Egan [Asimov’s Sep 1995]
  • “TAP” by Greg Egan [Asimov’s Nov 1995]

Best Short Story

  • “The Lincoln Train” by Maureen F. McHugh [F&SF Apr 1995]
  • “A Birthday” by Esther M. Friesner [F&SF Aug 1995]
  • “TeleAbsence” by Michael A. Burstein [Analog Jul 1995]
  • “Life on the Moon” by Tony Daniel [Asimov’s Apr 1995]
  • “Walking Out” by Michael Swanwick [Asimov’s Feb 1995]

Best Related Non-Fiction Book

  • Science Fiction: The Illustrated Encyclopedia by John Clute [Dorling Kindersley, 1995]
  • Yours, Isaac Asimov: A Lifetime of Letters by Isaac Asimov by Isaac Asimov [Doubleday, 1995]
  • Alien Horizons: The Fantastic Art of Bob Eggleton by Bob Eggleton [Paper Tiger, 1995]
  • Spectrum II: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Burnett and Arnie Fenner [Underwood Books, 1995]
  • To Write Like a Woman: Essays in Feminism and Science Fiction by Joanna Russ [Indiana University Press, 1995]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Babylon 5 – “The Coming of Shadows” (1995) [Babylonian Productions] Directed by Janet Greek; Written by J. Michael Straczynski
  • Apollo 13 (1995) [Imagine/Universal] Directed by Ron Howard; Screenplay by William Broyles Jr. & Al Reinert; based on the book Lost Moon by Jim Lovell & Jeffrey Kluger
  • Twelve Monkeys (1995) [Atlas/Universal] Directed by Terry Gilliam; Screenplay by David Webb Peoples & Janet Peoples; based on the film La Jetee by Chris Marker
  • Toy Story (1995) [Disney/Pixar
    Animation] Directed by John Lasseter; Screenplay by Joss Whedon and
    Andrew Stanton and Joel Cohen and Alec Sokolow; Story by John Lasseter
    and Peter Docter and Andrew Stanton and Joe Ranft
  • Star Trek: Deep Space Nine – “The Visitor” (1995) [Paramount] Directed by David Livingston; Written by Michael Taylor

Best Professional Editor

  • Gardner Dozois
  • Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Scott Edelman

Best Professional Artist

  • Bob Eggleton
  • Michael Whelan
  • Don Maitz
  • Jim Burns
  • Thomas Canty

Best Original Art Work

  • Dinotopia: The World Beneath by James Gurney [Turner, 1995]
  • Cover (Analog Jan 1995) [Tide of Stars by Julia Ecklar] by Bob Eggleton [Analog Jan 1995]
  • Cover (F&SF Jan 1995) [Tea and Hamsters by Michael G. Coney] by Gary Lippincott [F&SF Jan 1995]
  • Cover (F&SF Oct/Nov 1995) [Dankden by Marc Laidlaw] by Bob Eggleton [F&SF Oct/Nov 1995]
  • Cover (Analog Mar 1995) [Renascence by Poul Anderson] by George H. Krauter [Analog Mar 1995]

Best Semiprozine

  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
  • Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
  • Interzone ed. by David Pringle
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, Ariel Haméon and Tad Dembinski
  • Crank! ed. by Bryan Cholfin

Best Fanzine

  • Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
  • Mimosa ed. by Dick Lynch and Nicki Lynch
  • Lan’s Lantern ed. by George “Lan” Laskowski
  • Attitude ed. by Michael Abbott, John Dallman and Pam Wells
  • Apparatchik ed. by Andrew P. Hooper and Victor Gonzalez
  • FOSFAX ed. by Timothy Lane and Elizabeth Garrott

Best Fan Writer

  • Dave Langford
  • Sharon N. Farber
  • Evelyn C. Leeper
  • Andrew P. Hooper
  • Joseph T. Major

Best Fan Artist

  • William Rotsler
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Joe Mayhew
  • Peggy Ranson
  • Ian Gunn

For the full breakdown of voting and nomination see here. (This is a PDF of an archived copy of the 1996 Worldcon web site and has certain formatting challenges.)

Further detail