1959 Hugo Awards

1959 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Detention, Detroit, September 4-7, 1959

Toastmaster: Isaac Asimov and Robert Bloch

Base design:

Awards Administration:

Best Novel

  • A Case of Conscience by James Blish [Ballantine, 1958]
  • We Have Fed Our Seas (alt: The Enemy Stars) by Poul Anderson [Astounding Aug,Sep 1958]
  • Who? by Algis Budrys [Pyramid, 1958]
  • Have Spacesuit – Will Travel by Robert A. Heinlein [F&SF Aug,Sep,Oct 1958]
  • Time Killer (alt: Immortality, Inc.) by Robert Sheckley [Galaxy Oct,Nov,Dec 1958, Feb 1959]

Best Novelette

  • “The Big Front Yard” by Clifford D. Simak [Astounding Oct 1958]
  • “Unwillingly to School” by Pauline Ashwell [Astounding Jan 1958]
  • “Captivity” by Zenna Henderson [F&SF Jun 1958]
  • “Reap the Dark Tide” (alt: “Shark Ship”) by C. M. Kornbluth [Vanguard Jun 1958]
  • “A Deskful of Girls” by Fritz Leiber [F&SF Apr 1958]
  • “Second Game” by Katherine MacLean and Charles V. De Vet [Astounding Mar 1958]
  • “Rat in the Skull” by Rog Phillips [If Dec 1958]
  • “The Miracle-Workers” by Jack Vance [Astounding Jul 1958]

Best Short Story

  • “That Hell-Bound Train” by Robert Bloch [F&SF Sep 1958]
  • “They’ve Been Working On …” by Anton Lee Baker [Astounding Aug 1958]
  • “The Men Who Murdered Mohammed” by Alfred Bester [F&SF Oct 1958]
  • “Triggerman” by J. F. Bone [Astounding Dec 1958]
  • “The Edge of the Sea” by Algis Budrys [Venture Mar 1958]
  • “The Advent on Channel Twelve” by C. M. Kornbluth [Star Science Fiction Stories #4 (Ballantine), 1958]
  • “Theory of Rocketry” by C. M. Kornbluth [F&SF Jul 1958]
  • “Rump-Titty-Titty-Tum-TAH-Tee” by Fritz Leiber [F&SF May 1958]
  • “Space to Swing a Cat” by Stanley Mullen [Astounding Jun 1958]
  • “Nine Yards of Other Cloth” by Manly Wade Wellman [F&SF Nov 1958]

Best SF or Fantasy Movie

  • No winner chosen
  • The Fly (1958) [20th Century Fox] Directed by Kurt Neumann; Screenplay by James Clavell; Story by George Langelaan
  • The 7th Voyage of Sinbad (1958) [Morningside Movies/Columbia] Directed by Nathan Juran; Screenplay by Ken Kolb; Story by Ray Harryhausen
  • Dracula (1958) (alt: The Horror of Dracula) [Hammer] Directed by Terence Fisher; Screenplay by Jimmy Sangster; based on the novel by Bram Stoker

Best Professional Magazine

  • The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction ed. by Anthony Boucher and Robert P. Mills
  • Astounding Science Fiction ed. by John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Galaxy ed. by H. L. Gold
  • New Worlds ed. by Michael Moorcock
  • Infinity Magazine

Best Professional Artist

  • Frank Kelly Freas
  • Ed Emshwiller
  • Virgil Finlay
  • H. R. Van Dongen
  • Wally Wood

Best Fanzine

  • Fanac ed. by Terry Carr and Ron Ellik
  • Cry of the Nameless ed. by F. M. Busby, Elinor Busby, Burnett Toskey and Wally Weber
  • Yandro ed. by Robert Coulson and Juanita Coulson
  • Hyphen ed. by Chuck Harris and Walt Willis
  • JD-Argassy ed. by Lynn A. Hickman
  • Science Fiction Times ed. by James V. Taurasi, Sr., Ray Van Houten and Frank R. Prieto, Jr.

Best New Author of 1958

  • No winner chosen
  • Brian W. Aldiss
  • Paul Ash (aka: Pauline Ashwell)
  • Rosel George Brown
  • Louis Charbonneau
  • Kit Reed