1963 Hugo Awards

1963 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Discon I, Washington DC, August 31 – September 2, 1963

Toastmaster: Isaac Asimov

Base design:

Awards Administration:

Best Novel

  • The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick [Putnam, 1962]
  • Sword of Aldones by Marion Zimmer Bradley [Ace, 1961]
  • A Fall of Moondust by Arthur C. Clarke [Harcourt, Brace & World, 1962]
  • Little Fuzzy by H. Beam Piper [Avon, 1962]
  • Sylva by Vercors, translated by Rita Barisse [Putnam, 1961]

Short Fiction

  • “The Dragon Masters” by Jack Vance [Galaxy Aug 1962]
  • “Myrrha” by Gary Jennings [F&SF Sep 1962]
  • “The Unholy Grail” by Fritz Leiber [Fantastic Oct 1962]
  • “When You Care, When You Love” by Theodore Sturgeon [F&SF Sep 1962]
  • “Where Is the Bird of Fire?” by Thomas Burnett Swann [Science Fantasy Apr 1962]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • No winner chosen this year
  • Burn, Witch, Burn (1962) (alt: Night of the Eagle) [Anglo-Amalgamated/Independent Artists] Directed by Sidney Hayers; Screenplay by Charles Beaumont & Richard Matheson and George Baxt; based on the novel Conjure Wife by Fritz Leiber
  • The Day the Earth Caught Fire (1961) [British Lion/Pax] Directed by Val Guest; Written by Wolf Mankowitz & Val Guest
  • Last Year at Marienbad (1962) [Argos Films] Directed by Alain Resnais; Screenplay by Alain Resnais and Alain Robbe-Grillet; based on the novel The Invention of Morel by Adolfo Bioy Casares
  • The Twilight Zone (TV series) by Rod Serling [CBS]

Note: Burn, Witch, Burn/Night of the Eagle was accidentally left off of the 1963 Hugo Award final ballot but was a finalist, as documented in the 1963 Worldcon Souvenir Book (page 24). This is further documented in George Scithers’ Con-Committee Chairman’s Guide, the story of DisCon I, as archived at the Fancyclopedia web site. We extend our thanks to File 770 for the historical background and links to this information.

Best Professional Magazine

  • The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction ed. by Robert P. Mills and Avram Davidson
  • Analog Science Fiction and Fact ed. by John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Galaxy ed. by H. L. Gold
  • Fantastic ed. by Cele Goldsmith
  • Science Fantasy

Best Professional Artist

  • Roy G. Krenkel
  • Ed Emshwiller
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Jack Gaughan
  • John Schoenherr

Best Fanzine

  • Xero ed. by Richard A. Lupoff and Pat Lupoff
  • Warhoon ed. by Richard Bergeron
  • Mirage ed. by Jack L. Chalker
  • Yandro ed. by Robert Coulson and Juanita Coulson
  • Shangri L’Affaires ed. by Fred Patten, Albert Lewis, Bjo Trimble and John Trimble