1970 Hugo Awards

1970 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Heicon ’70, Heidelberg, Germany, August 20-24, 1970

Toastmaster: John Brunner

Base design:

Awards Administration:

Best Novel

  • The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin [Ace, 1969]
  • Up the Line by Robert Silverberg [Ballantine, 1969]
  • Macroscope by Piers Anthony [Avon, 1969]
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. [Delacorte, 1969]
  • Bug Jack Barron by Norman Spinrad [Avon, 1969]

Best Novella

  • “Ship of Shadows” by Fritz Leiber [F&SF Jul 1969]
  • “A Boy and His Dog” by Harlan Ellison [The Beast that Shouted Love at the Heart of the World, 1969]
  • “We All Die Naked” by James Blish [Three for Tomorrow, 1969]
  • “Dramatic Mission” by Anne McCaffrey [Analog Jun 1969]
  • “To Jorslem” by Robert Silverberg [Galaxy Feb 1969]

Best Short Story

  • “Time Considered as a Helix of Semi-Precious Stones” by Samuel R. Delany [New Worlds Dec 1968]
  • “Passengers” by Robert Silverberg [Orbit #4, 1968]
  • “Not Long Before the End” by Larry Niven [F&SF Apr 1969]
  • “Deeper Than the Darkness” by Gregory Benford [F&SF Apr 1969]
  • “Winter’s King” by Ursula K. Le Guin [Orbit , 1969]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • TV Coverage of Apollo XI
  • Marooned (1969) [Columbia] Directed by John Sturges; Screenplay by Mayo Simon; based on the novel by Martin Caidin
  • The Illustrated Man (1969) [SKM] Directed by Jack Smight; Screenplay by Howard B. Kreitsek; based on the collection by Ray Bradbury
  • The Immortal (TV movie) (1969) [Paramount] Directed by Allen Baron and Joseph Sargent; Screenplay by Lou Morheim and Robert Specht; based on the novel The Immortals by James Gunn
  • The Bed Sitting Room (1969) [Oscar Lewenstein] Directed by Richard Lester; Screenplay by John Antrobus; Adaptation by Charles Wood; based on the play by John Antrobus & Spike Milligan

Best Professional Magazine

  • The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction ed. by Edward L. Ferman
  • Analog Science Fiction and Fact ed. by John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Amazing Science Fiction Stories ed. by Cele Goldsmith
  • Galaxy ed. by Ejler Jakobsson
  • New Worlds ed. by Michael Moorcock

Best Professional Artist

  • Frank Kelly Freas
  • Leo Dillon and Diane Dillon
  • Jack Gaughan
  • Eddie Jones
  • Jeff Jones
  • Vaughn Bodé

Best Fanzine

  • Science Fiction Review ed. by Richard E. Geis
  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown and Dena Brown
  • Riverside Quarterly ed. by Leland Sapiro
  • Speculation ed. by Peter R. Weston
  • Beabohema ed. by Frank Lunney

Best Fan Writer

  • Wilson Tucker
  • Richard E. Geis
  • Piers Anthony
  • Charles N. Brown
  • Richard Delap

Best Fan Artist

  • Tim Kirk
  • George Barr
  • William Rotsler
  • Alicia Austin
  • Stephen Fabian