1971 Hugo Awards

1971 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Noreascon I, Boston, September 2-6, 1971

Toastmaster: Robert Silverberg

Base design:

Awards Administration:

Best Novel

  • Ringworld by Larry Niven [Ballantine, 1970]
  • Tau Zero by Poul Anderson [Doubleday, 1970]
  • Tower of Glass by Robert Silverberg [Scribner’s, 1970]
  • The Year of the Quiet Sun by Wilson Tucker [Ace, 1970]
  • Star Light by Hal Clement [Analog Jun,Jul,Aug,Sep 1970]

Best Novella

  • “Ill Met in Lankhmar” by Fritz Leiber [F&SF Apr 1970]
  • “The Thing in the Stone” by Clifford D. Simak [If Mar 1970]
  • “The Region Between” by Harlan Ellison [Galaxy Mar 1970]
  • “The World Outside” by Robert Silverberg [Galaxy Oct/Nov 1970]
  • “Beastchild” by Dean R. Koontz [Venture Aug 1970]

Best Short Story

  • “Slow Sculpture” by Theodore Sturgeon [Galaxy Feb 1970]
  • “Continued on Next Rock” by R. A. Lafferty [Orbit #7, 1970]
  • “Jean Duprès” by Gordon R. Dickson [Nova , 1970]
  • “In the Queue” by Keith Laumer [Orbit #7, 1970]
  • “Brillo” by Ben Bova and Harlan Ellison [Analog Aug 1970]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • No winner chosen this year
  • Colossus: The Forbin Project (1970) [Universal] Directed by Joseph Sargent; Screenplay by James Bridges; based on the novel Colossus by D. F. Jones
  • Don’t Crush That Dwarf, Hand Me the Pliers (recording) (1970) [Sony] Written and produced by The Firesign Theater
  • Hauser’s Memory (1970) [Universal] Directed by Boris Sagal; Teleplay by Adrian Spies; based on the novel by Curt Siodmak
  • Blows Against the Empire (music recording) (1970) [RCA] Paul Kantner, Producer
  • No Blade of Grass (1970) [Theodora/MGM] Directed by Cornel Wilde; Screenplay by Sean Forestal and Jefferson Pascal; based on the novel by John Christopher

Best Professional Magazine

  • The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction ed. by Edward L. Ferman
  • Analog Science Fiction and Fact ed. by John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Amazing Science Fiction Stories ed. by Cele Goldsmith
  • Galaxy ed. by Ejler Jakobsson
  • Visions of Tomorrow ed. by Ron Graham

Best Professional Artist

  • Leo Dillon and Diane Dillon
  • Frank Kelly Freas
  • Jack Gaughan
  • Jeff Jones
  • Eddie Jones

Best Fanzine

  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown and Dena Brown
  • Science Fiction Review ed. by Richard E. Geis
  • Energumen ed. by Michael Glicksohn and Susan Wood Glicksohn
  • Speculation ed. by Peter R. Weston
  • Outworlds ed. by Bill Bowers and Joan Bowers

Best Fan Writer

  • Richard E. Geis
  • Terry Carr
  • Ted Pauls
  • Elizabeth Fishman
  • Tom Digby

Best Fan Artist

  • Alicia Austin
  • Tim Kirk
  • William Rotsler
  • Stephen Fabian
  • Mike Gilbert