1979 Hugo Awards

1979 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Seacon ’79, Brighton, England, August 23-26, 1979

Toastmaster: Bob Shaw

Base design:

Awards Administration: David Pringle

Best Novel

  • Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre [Houghton Mifflin, 1978]
  • The White Dragon by Anne McCaffrey [Ballantine Del Rey, 1978]
  • The Faded Sun: Kesrith by C. J. Cherryh [Galaxy Feb,Mar,Apr,May 1978; DAW, 1978]
  • Blind Voices by Tom Reamy [Berkley Putnam, 1978]
  • Up to the Walls of the World by James Tiptree, Jr. (Withdrew after ballot finalized, per convention newsletter; see TSAR, page 24)

Best Novella

  • “The Persistence of Vision” by John Varley [F&SF Mar 1978]
  • “Fireship” by Joan D. Vinge [Analog Dec 1978]
  • “The Watched” by Christopher Priest [F&SF Apr 1978]
  • “Enemies of the System” by Brian W. Aldiss [F&SF Jun 1978]
  • “Seven American Nights” by Gene Wolfe [Orbit #20, 1978]

Best Novelette

  • “Hunter’s Moon” by Poul Anderson [Analog Nov 1978]
  • “Mikal’s Songbird” by Orson Scott Card [Analog May 1978]
  • “The Man Who Had No Idea” by Thomas M. Disch [F&SF Oct 1978]
  • “Devil You Don’t Know” by Dean Ing [Analog Jan 1978]
  • “The Barbie Murders” by John Varley [Asimov’s Jan/Feb 1978]

Best Short Story

  • “Cassandra” by C. J. Cherryh [F&SF Oct 1978]
  • “Count the Clock That Tells the Time” by Harlan Ellison [Omni Dec 1978]
  • “View from a Height” by Joan D. Vinge [Analog Jun 1978; Sci Fiction, scifi.com 2004-10-06]
  • “Stone” by Edward Bryant [F&SF Feb 1978]
  • “The Very Slow Time Machine” by Ian Watson [Anticipations, 1978]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Superman (1978) [Alexander Salkind] Directed by Richard Donner; Screenplay by Mario Puzo and David Newman and Leslie Newman & Robert Benton; Story by Mario Puzo; based on the character created by Jerry Siegel & Joe Shuster
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (radio) (1978) [BBC Radio 4] Written by Douglas Adams; Geoffrey Perkins, Producer
  • Watership Down (1978) [Nepenthe] Directed by Martin Rosen; Screenplay by Martin Rosen; based on the novel by Richard Adams
  • Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978) [Solofilm/UA] Directed by Philip Kaufmann; Screenplay by W. D. Richter; based on the novel by Jack Finney
  • The Lord of the Rings (1978) [Fantasy] Directed by Ralph Bakshi; Screenplay by Peter S. Beagle and Chris Conkling; based on the first half of the trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien

Best Professional Editor

  • Ben Bova
  • Edward L. Ferman
  • George H. Scithers
  • James P. Baen
  • Terry Carr

Best Professional Artist

  • Vincent Di Fate
  • Michael Whelan
  • Boris Vallejo
  • Stephen Fabian
  • David Hardy

Best Fanzine

  • Science Fiction Review ed. by Richard E. Geis
  • Maya ed. by Rob Jackson
  • Janus ed. by Janice Bogstad and Jeanne Gomoll
  • Mota ed. by Terry Hughes
  • Twll-Ddu ed. by David Langford

Best Fan Writer

  • Bob Shaw
  • Richard E. Geis
  • Leroy Kettle
  • Dave Langford
  • D. West

Best Fan Artist

  • William Rotsler
  • Jim Barker
  • Alexis Gilliland
  • Harry Bell
  • Stu Shiffman