1990 Hugo Awards

1990 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: ConFiction, The Hague, The Netherlands, August 23-27, 1990

Toastmaster: Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

Base design:

Awards Administration:

Best Novel

  • Hyperion by Dan Simmons [Doubleday Foundation, 1989]
  • A Fire in the Sun by George Alec Effinger [Doubleday Foundation, 1989]
  • Prentice Alvin by Orson Scott Card [Tor, 1989]
  • The Boat of a Million Years by Poul Anderson [Tor, 1989]
  • Grass by Sheri S. Tepper [Doubleday Foundation, 1989]

Best Novella

  • “The Mountains of Mourning” by Lois McMaster Bujold [Analog May 1989]
  • “The Father of Stones” by Lucius Shepard [WSFA Press, 1989; Asimov’s Sep 1989]
  • “A Touch of Lavender” by Megan Lindholm [Asimov’s Nov 1989]
  • “Time Out” by Connie Willis [Asimov’s Jul 1989]
  • “Tiny Tango” by Judith Moffett [Asimov’s Feb 1989]

Best Novelette

  • “Enter a Soldier. Later: Enter Another” by Robert Silverberg [Asimov’s Jun 1989; Time Gate, 1989]
  • “For I Have Touched the Sky” by Mike Resnick [F&SF Dec 1989]
  • “Everything But Honor” by George Alec Effinger [Asimov’s Feb 1989]
  • “At the Rialto” by Connie Willis [The Microverse, 1989; Omni Oct 1989]
  • “The Price of Oranges” by Nancy Kress [Asimov’s Apr 1989]
  • “Dogwalker” by Orson Scott Card [Asimov’s Nov 1989]

Best Short Story

  • “Boobs” by Suzy McKee Charnas [Asimov’s Jul 1989]
  • “Lost Boys” by Orson Scott Card [F&SF Oct 1989]
  • “Computer Friendly” by Eileen Gunn [Asimov’s Jun 1989]
  • “The Return of William Proxmire” by Larry Niven [What Might Have Been? Vol. 1: Alternate Empires, 1989]
  • “The Edge of the World” by Michael Swanwick [Full Spectrum , 1989]
  • “Dori Bangs” by Bruce Sterling [Asimov’s Sep 1989]

Best Related Non-Fiction Book

  • The World Beyond the Hill by Alexei Panshin and Cory Panshin [J. P. Tarcher, 1989]
  • Grumbles from the Grave by Robert A. Heinlein [Ballantine Del Rey, 1989]
  • Dancing at the Edge of the World by Ursula K. Le Guin [Grove, 1989]
  • Astounding Days by Arthur C. Clarke [Gollancz, 1989; Bantam Spectra, 1989]
  • Harlan Ellison’s Watching by Harlan Ellison [Underwood-Miller, 1989]
  • Noreascon 3 Souvenir Book by Greg Thokar [MCFI, 1989]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989) [Lucasfilm/Paramount] Directed by Steven Spielberg; Screenplay by Jeffrey Boam; Story by George Lucas and Menno Meyjes; based on characters created by George Lucas and Philip Kaufman
  • The Adventures of Baron Munchausen (1988) [Allied/Columbia/Laura/Prominent] Directed by Terry Gilliam; Written by Terry Gilliam and Charles McKeown; based on the novel by Rudolph Erich Raspe & Gottfried August Buerger
  • Batman (1989) [Guber-Peters/PolyGram/Warner Brothers] Directed by Tim Burton; Screenplay by Sam Hamm and Warren Skaaren; Story by Sam Hamm; based on characters created by Bob Kane
  • Field of Dreams (1989) [Gordon/Universal] Directed by Phil Alden Robinson; Screenplay by Phil Alden Robinson; based on the novel by W. P. Kinsella
  • The Abyss (1989) [20th Century Fox/Lightstorm/Pacific Western] Directed by James Cameron; Written by James Cameron

Best Professional Editor

  • Gardner Dozois
  • Ellen Datlow
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Beth Meacham
  • Edward L. Ferman
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Charles C. Ryan

Best Professional Artist

  • Don Maitz
  • Thomas Canty
  • Michael Whelan
  • Jim Burns
  • David A. Cherry
  • Tom Kidd
  • James Gurney

Best Original Art Work
Some sources, including some from the 1990 Worldcon itself, mistakenly label this “Not a Hugo,” but it was added to the ballot by the 1990 Worldcon Committee’s authority to create an additional category. Per the WSFS Constitution, it is a Hugo Award. The 1990 WSFS Business Meeting adopted Best Original Art Work as a regular category, and the 1991 WSFS Business Meeting ratified the addition, so the Best Original Art Work category first appeared as a regular category in 1992. The 1991 Worldcon declined to use its additional-category authority that year, and therefore this category did not appear in 1991. This category should therefore be considered to have been awarded in 1990 and 1992-1996, after which it was discontinued.

  • Cover (Rimrunners by C. J. Cherryh) by Don Maitz [Warner Questar, 1989]
  • Cover (Hyperion by Dan Simmons) by Gary Ruddell [Doubleday Foundation, 1989]
  • Cover (Paradise by Mike Resnick) by Michael Whelan [Tor, 1989]
  • Cover (The Renegades of Pern by Anne McCaffrey) by Michael Whelan [Ballantine Del Rey, 1989]
  • Cover (Quozl by Alan Dean Foster) by James Gurney [Ace, 1989]
  • Cover (The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers) by James Gurney [Ace, 1989]

Best Semiprozine

  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
  • Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
  • Interzone ed. by David Pringle
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell and Gordon Van Gelder
  • Thrust ed. by D. Douglas Fratz

Best Fanzine

  • The Mad 3 Party ed. by Leslie Turek
  • File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
  • Lan’s Lantern ed. by George “Lan” Laskowski
  • Pirate Jenny ed. by Pat Mueller
  • FOSFAX ed. by Timothy Lane

Best Fan Writer

  • Dave Langford
  • Mike Glyer
  • Leslie Turek
  • Arthur D. Hlavaty
  • Evelyn C. Leeper

Best Fan Artist

  • Stu Shiffman
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Taral Wayne
  • Merle Insinga
  • Joe Mayhew
  • Steve Fox