1995 Hugo Awards

1995 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Intersection, Glasgow, Scotland, August 24-28, 1995

Toastmasters: Diane Duane and Peter Morwood

Base design: Sylvia Starshine

Awards Administration: Mike & Debby Moir

477 members of Intersection and ConAdian submitted valid nominating ballots. In some categories more than 5 finalists appear due to tie votes. In the “Original Artwork” category only 3 finalists appear, as no other candidates appeared on more than 5% of the ballots cast in that category, as required by the WSFS constitution. The Hugo Subcommittee of Intersection decided to cancel the special Best Music category due to a marked lack of interest that category: only one nominated item received more than 7 nominations. 744 valid final ballots were received.

Best Novel

  • Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold [Baen, 1994]
  • Mother of Storms by John Barnes [Tor, 1994]
  • Beggars and Choosers by Nancy Kress [Tor, 1994]
  • Brittle Innings by Michael Bishop [Bantam, 1994]
  • Towing Jehovah by James Morrow [Harcourt Brace, 1994]

Best Novella

  • “Seven Views of Olduvai Gorge” by Mike Resnick [F&SF Oct/Nov 1994]
  • “Les Fleurs du Mal” by Brian Stableford [Asimov’s Oct 1994]
  • “Forgiveness Day” by Ursula K. Le Guin [Asimov’s Nov 1994]
  • “Cri de Coeur” by Michael Bishop [Asimov’s Sep 1994]
  • “Melodies of the Heart” by Michael F. Flynn [Analog Jan 1994]

Best Novelette

  • “The Martian Child” by David Gerrold [F&SF Sep 1994]
  • “Cocoon” by Greg Egan [Asimov’s May 1994]
  • “A Little Knowledge” by Mike Resnick [Asimov’s Apr 1994]
  • “Solitude” by Ursula K. Le Guin [F&SF Dec 1994]
  • “The Singular Habits of Wasps” by Geoffrey A. Landis [Analog Apr 1994]
  • “The Matter of Seggri” by Ursula K. Le Guin [Crank #3 Spr 1994]

Best Short Story

  • “None So Blind” by Joe Haldeman [Asimov’s Nov 1994]
  • “I Know What You’re Thinking” by Kate Wilhelm [Asimov’s Nov 1994]
  • “Barnaby in Exile” by Mike Resnick [Asimov’s Feb 1994]
  • “Dead Man’s Curve” by Terry Bisson [Asimov’s Jun 1994]
  • “Understanding Entropy” by Barry N. Malzberg [SF Age Jul 1994]
  • “Mrs. Lincoln’s China” by M. Shayne Bell [Asimov’s Jul 1994]

Best Related Non-Fiction Book

  • I. Asimov: A Memoir by Isaac Asimov [Doubleday, 1994]
  • The Book on the Edge of Forever by Christopher Priest [Fantagraphics, 1994]
  • Silent Interviews: On Language, Race, Sex, Science Fiction, and Some Comics by Samuel R. Delany [University Press of New England, 1994; Wesleyan, 1994]
  • Making Book by Teresa Nielsen Hayden [NESFA Press, 1994]
  • Spectrum: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Burnett and Arnie Fenner [Underwood Books, 1994]

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Star Trek: The Next Generation – “All Good Things…” (1994) [Paramount] Directed by Winrich Kolbe; Written by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga
  • The Mask (1994) [Dark Horse/New Line] Directed by Chuck Russell; Screenplay by Mike Werb; Story by Michael Fallon and Mark Verheiden
  • Interview with the Vampire (1994) [Geffen] Directed by Neil Jordan; Screenplay by Anne Rice; based on the novel by Anne Rice
  • Stargate (1994) [Carolco/Centropolis] Directed by Roland Emmerich; Written by Dean Devlin & Roland Emmerich
  • Star Trek: Generations (1994) [Paramount] Directed by David Carson; Screenplay by Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga; Story by Rick Berman & Ronald D. Moore & Brannon Braga

Best Professional Editor

  • Gardner Dozois
  • Kristine Kathryn Rusch
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Mike Resnick
  • Stanley Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

  • Jim Burns
  • Michael Whelan
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Don Maitz
  • Thomas Canty

Best Original Art Work

  • Lady Cottington’s Pressed Fairy Book by Brian Froud and Terry Jones [Pavilion, 1994; Turner, 1994]
  • Cover (Foreigner by C. J. Cherryh) by Michael Whelan [DAW, 1994]
  • Cover (Gun, with Occasional Music by Jonathan Lethem) by Michael Koelsch [Harcourt Brace, 1994]

Best Semiprozine

  • Interzone ed. by David Pringle
  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
  • Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, Ariel HamĂ©on and Tad Dembinski
  • Tomorrow Speculative Fiction ed. by Algis Budrys

Best Fanzine

  • Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
  • Mimosa ed. by Dick Lynch and Nicki Lynch
  • File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
  • Lan’s Lantern ed. by George “Lan” Laskowski
  • Habakkuk ed. by Bill Donaho

Best Fan Writer

  • Dave Langford
  • Mike Glyer
  • Andrew P. Hooper
  • Sharon N. Farber
  • Evelyn C. Leeper

Best Fan Artist

  • Teddy Harvia
  • Brad W. Foster
  • William Rotsler
  • Linda Michaels
  • Peggy Ranson

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • Jeff Noon*
  • Felicity Savage
  • Linda Dunn*
  • David Fentuch
  • Daniel Marcus*

*Finalist in their 2nd year of eligibility