1999 Hugo Awards

1999 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Aussiecon Three, Melbourne, Australia, September 2-6, 1999

Host: Michael Jordan, Paul Ewins

Base design: Justin Dix

Awards Administration: Roy Ferguson and Justin Ackroyd

The Hugo Awards were presented at an evening ceremony on the 4th of September at Aussiecon Three, the 1999 World Science Fiction Convention.

There were 425 valid nominating ballots received from members of Aussiecon Three and Bucconeer. 438 valid final ballots were received from members of Aussiecon Three.

The Novelette category had seven nominees due to a 3-way tie for fifth place. The Short Story, Professional Editor, Professional Artist, Fanzine, and Fan Artist categories all had six nominees due to 2-way ties for fifth place.

Full Nominating and Final Ballot Voting Details (PDF)

Best Novel

  • To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis [Bantam Spectra, 1998]
  • Children of God by Mary Doria Russell [Villard, 1998]
  • Darwinia by Robert Charles Wilson [Tor, 1998]
  • Distraction by Bruce Sterling [Bantam Spectra, 1998]
  • Factoring Humanity by Robert J. Sawyer [Tor, 1998]

Best Novella

  • “Oceanic” by Greg Egan [Asimov’s Aug 1998]
  • “Aurora in Four Voices” by Catherine Asaro [Analog Dec 1998]
  • “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang [Starlight (Tor), 1998]
  • “Get Me to the Church on Time” by Terry Bisson [Asimov’s May 1998]
  • “The Summer Isles” by Ian R. MacLeod [Asimov’s Oct/Nov 1998]

Best Novelette

  • “Taklamakan” by Bruce Sterling [Asimov’s Oct/Nov 1998]
  • “Echea” by Kristine Kathryn Rusch [Asimov’s Jul 1998]
  • “Zwarte Piet’s Tale” by Allen Steele [Analog Dec 1998]
  • “Steamship Soldier on the Information Front” by Nancy Kress [Future Histories 1997; Asimov’s Apr 1998]
  • “The Planck Dive” by Greg Egan [Asimov’s Feb 1998]
  • “Time Gypsy” by Ellen Klages [Bending the Landscape: Science Fiction, 1998]
  • “Divided by Infinity” by Robert Charles Wilson [Starlight (Tor), 1998]

Best Short Story

  • “The Very Pulse of the Machine” by Michael Swanwick [Asimov’s Feb 1998]
  • “Maneki Neko” by Bruce Sterling [F&SF May 1998]
  • “Radiant Doors” by Michael Swanwick [Asimov’s Sep 1998]
  • “Wild Minds” by Michael Swanwick [Asimov’s May 1998]
  • “Cosmic Corkscrew” by Michael A. Burstein [Analog Jun 1998]
  • “Whiptail” by Robert Reed [Asimov’s Oct/Nov 1998]

Best Related Book

  • The Dreams Our Stuff Is Made of: How Science Fiction Conquered the World by Thomas M. Disch [Free Press, 1998]
  • The Work of Jack Williamson: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide by Richard A. Hauptmann [NESFA Press, 1998]
  • Science-Fiction: The Gernsback Years by Everett F. Bleiler [Kent State University Press, 1998]
  • The Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards by Howard DeVore [Advent, 1998]
  • Spectrum 5: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Fenner, Arnie Fenner and Jim Loehr [Underwood Books, 1998]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • The Truman Show (1998) [Paramount] Directed by Peter Weir; Written by Andrew Niccol
  • Dark City (1998) [New Line Cinema] Directed by Alex Proyas; Screenplay by Alex Proyas and Lem Dobbs and David S. Goyer; Story by Alex Proyas
  • Pleasantville (1998) [New Line Cinema] Directed by Gary Ross; Written by Gary Ross
  • Babylon 5 – “Sleeping in Light” (1998) [Babylonian Productions] Directed by J. Michael Straczynski; Written by J. Michael Straczynski
  • Star Trek: Insurrection (1998) [Paramount] Directed by Jonathan Frakes; Screenplay by Michael Piller; Story by Rick Berman & Michael Piller

Best Professional Editor

  • Gardner Dozois
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • Scott Edelman

Best Professional Artist

  • Bob Eggleton
  • Jim Burns
  • Michael Whelan
  • Don Maitz
  • Nick Stathopoulos
  • Donato Giancola

Best Semiprozine

  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
  • Interzone ed. by David Pringle
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell and Kevin J. Maroney
  • Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
  • Speculations ed. by Kent Brewster

Best Fanzine

  • Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
  • File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
  • Mimosa ed. by Nicki Lynch and Richard Lynch
  • Thyme ed. by Alan Stewart
  • Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies and Mike Scott
  • Tangent ed. by Dave Truesdale

Best Fan Writer

  • Dave Langford
  • Maureen Kincaid Speller
  • Mike Glyer
  • Evelyn C. Leeper
  • Bob Devney

Best Fan Artist

  • Ian Gunn
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Joe Mayhew
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Freddie Baer
  • D. West

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • Nalo Hopkinson*
  • Kage Baker*
  • Julie E. Czerneda*
  • Susan R. Matthews*
  • James Van Pelt*

*Finalist in their 2nd year of eligibility