2011 Hugo Awards

2011 Hugo Award Trophy

Presented at: Renovation, Reno, Nevada, USA on August 20, 2011

Toastmaster: Jay Lake & Ken Scholes

Base design: Marina Gélineau

Awards Administration: Vincent Docherty & Kate Kligman

1006 valid nominating ballots were counted (992 electronic and 14 paper). 2100 valid final ballots were cast (2086 electronic and 14 paper).
For the full breakdown of voting and nomination see here (PDF).

Best Novel

  • Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)
  • Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit)
  • Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
  • The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)

Best Novella

  • The Lifecycle of Software Objects, Ted Chiang (Subterranean)
  • “Troika”, Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)
  • “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window”, Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)
  • “The Sultan of the Clouds”, Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s, September 2010)
  • “The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon”, Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)

Best Novelette

  • “The Emperor of Mars”, Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)
  • “Eight Miles”, Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)
  • “Plus or Minus”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, December 2010)
  • “That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made”, Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)
  • “The Jaguar House, in Shadow”, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s, July 2010)

Best Short Story

  • “For Want of a Nail”, Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)
  • “Amaryllis”, Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)
  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)
  • “Ponies”, Kij Johnson (Tor.com, November 17, 2010)

Note: there were only four nominees in this category per the provisions of the WSFS Constitution that require that nominees receive a specified minimum percentage of nominations.

Best Related Work

  • Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)
  • Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve, William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor)
  • The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing, Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland)
  • Writing Excuses, Season 4, Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells
  • Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001, Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)

Best Graphic Story

  • Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
  • Fables: Witches, written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
  • Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)
  • Grandville Mon Amour, Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)
  • The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man, written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Inception, written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)
  • How to Train Your Dragon, screenplay by William Davies, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (DreamWorks)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner)
  • Toy Story 3, screenplay by Michael Arndt; story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; directed by Lee Unkrich (Pixar/Disney)
  • Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; directed by Edgar Wright (Universal)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • Doctor Who: “The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “Vincent and the Doctor,” written by Richard Curtis; directed by Jonny Campbell (BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “A Christmas Carol,” written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
  • Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury, written by Rachel Bloom; directed by Paul Briganti
  • The Lost Thing, written by Shaun Tan; directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (Passion Pictures)

Best Editor, Short Form

  • Sheila Williams
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Gordon Van Gelder

Best Editor, Long Form

  • Lou Anders
  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • Beth Meacham
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Moshe Feder
  • Nick Mamatas
  • Juliet Ulman

Note: Seven nominees appear in this category due to a tie for the final position.

Best Professional Artist

  • Shaun Tan
  • Stephan Martiniere
  • John Picacio
  • Daniel Dos Santos
  • Bob Eggleton

Note: Picacio and Dos Santos tied for 3rd.

Best Semiprozine

  • Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker
  • Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine

  • The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon
  • File 770, edited by Mike Glyer
  • StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith
  • Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III
  • Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Best Fan Writer

  • Claire Brialey
  • Christopher J Garcia
  • Steven H Silver
  • James Bacon
  • James Nicoll

Best Fan Artist

  • Brad W. Foster
  • Randall Munroe
  • Maurine Starkey
  • Steve Stiles
  • Taral Wayne

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • Lev Grossman*
  • Lauren Beukes
  • Saladin Ahmed*
  • Dan Wells*
  • Larry Correia*

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.