1943 Retro-Hugo Awards

1943 Retro-Hugo Award Trophy

Presented at: Worldcon 76, San José, California, USA, August 16, 2018

Host: Eric Zuckerman

Base design: Kevin Roche

Awards Administration: Dave McCarty, Linda Deneroff, Deb Geisler, Susan de Guardiola, Sandra Levy, John Pomeranz, Kevin Roche, Kevin Standlee, Leane Verhulst

The 1943 Retrospective Hugo Award winners were announced during the First Night events on the evening of Thursday, August 16, 2018 at Worldcon 76 in San Jose, California. The Retro-Hugo Awards ceremony was not live-streamed, nor was it recorded.

Per WSFS rules, categories in which there were insufficient nominations to justify the category were dropped.

Best Novel

  • Beyond This Horizon, by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction, April & May 1942)
  • Second Stage Lensmen, by E. E. “Doc” Smith (Astounding Science-Fiction, November 1941 to February 1942)
  • Darkness and the Light, by Olaf Stapledon (Methuen / S.J.R. Saunders)
  • Donovan’s Brain, by Curt Siodmak (Black Mask, September-November 1942)
  • The Uninvited, by Dorothy Macardle (Doubleday, Doran / S.J.R. Saunders)
  • Islandia, by Austin Tappan Wright (Farrar & Rinehart)

Best Novella

  • “Waldo,” by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1942)
  • “The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag,” by John Riverside (Robert A. Heinlein) (Unknown Worlds, October 1942)
  • “Nerves,” by Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction, September 1942)
  • “The Compleat Werewolf,” by Anthony Boucher (Unknown Worlds, April 1942)
  • “Asylum,” by A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction, May 1942)
  • “Hell is Forever,” by Alfred Bester (Unknown Worlds, August 1942)

Best Novelette

  • “Foundation,” by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction, May 1942)
  • “The Weapon Shop,” by A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction, December 1942)
  • “There Shall Be Darkness,” by C.L. Moore (Astounding Science-Fiction, February 1942)
  • “The Star Mouse,” by Fredric Brown (Planet Stories, Spring 1942)
  • “Bridle and Saddle,” by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction, June 1942)
  • “Goldfish Bowl,” by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction, March 1942)

Best Short Story

  • “The Twonky,” by C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science-Fiction, September 1942)
  • “Proof,” by Hal Clement (Astounding Science-Fiction, June 1942)
  • “Runaround,” by Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction, March 1942)
  • “The Sunken Land,” by Fritz Leiber (Unknown Worlds, February 1942)
  • “Etaoin Shrdlu,” by Fredric Brown (Unknown Worlds, February 1942)
  • “Mimic,” by Martin Pearson (Donald A. Wollheim) (Astonishing Stories, December 1942)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • Bambi, written by Perce Pearce, Larry Morey, et al., directed by David D. Hand et al. (Walt Disney Productions)
  • Cat People, written by DeWitt Bodeen, directed by Jacques Tourneur (RKO Radio Pictures, Inc.)
  • Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book, written by Laurence Stallings, directed by Zoltan Korda (Alexander Korda Films, Inc. / United Artists)
  • I Married a Witch, written by Robert Pirosh and Marc Connelly, directed by René Clair (Cinema Guild Productions / Paramount Pictures)
  • The Ghost of Frankenstein, written by W. Scott Darling, directed by Erle C. Kenton (Universal Pictures)
  • Invisible Agent, written by Curtis Siodmak, directed by Edwin L. Marin (Frank Lloyd Productions / Universal Pictures)

Best Editor, Short Form

  • John W. Campbell
  • Donald A. Wollheim
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Oscar J. Friend
  • Malcolm Reiss

Best Professional Artist

  • Virgil Finlay
  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Edd Cartier
  • Hubert Rogers
  • Harold W. McCauley

Best Fanzine

  • Le Zombie, edited by Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • The Phantagraph, edited by Donald A. Wollheim
  • Spaceways, edited by Harry Warner, Jr.
  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation, edited by Forrest J Ackerman and Morojo
  • Futurian War Digest, edited by J. Michael Rosenblum
  • Inspiration, edited by Lynn Bridges

Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Arthur Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Donald A. Wollheim
  • Harry Warner, Jr.
  • Jack Speer
  • Art Widner

The World Science Fiction Society Constitution allows, but does not require, a Worldcon held an even multiple of 25 years after a year after 1939 at which no Hugo Awards were presented to present Retrospective Hugo Awards for works that would have been eligible for that year’s Hugo Awards if they had been held. (Once Retro-Hugos have been presented for a given year, no future Worldcon may present Retro-Hugos for that year.) Due to World War II, there was no Worldcon in 1943, and no Worldcon has previously presented Retro-Hugo Awards for that year. Worldcon 76 elected to present Retro-Hugo Awards for works generally first published in 1942 that would have been eligible for the 1943 Hugo Awards had there been Awards presented in 1943.

Finalists for the 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards were announced at multiple events on Saturday, March 31, 2018 at Noon Pacific Daylight Time and via a video announcement posted to YouTube that same day.

Voting for the Hugo Awards is open to any supporting or attending member of Worldcon 76. Voting will open in April 2018 and will continue through the end of July 2018. There is no Hugo Award voting at the Worldcon itself. Voting ends before the convention to allow sufficient time to count votes and prepare trophies. Anyone who joins by the end of voting is eligible to vote.

The 1943 Retrospective Hugo Awards were administered by Worldcon 76. See the Worldcon 76 Hugo Awards web page for details, and direct questions about the administration of the 2018 Hugo Awards to the 2018 Hugo Awards Administrators, not the Hugo Awards web site.

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer and the Award for Best Young Adult Book are not Hugo Awards and therefore there are no Retrospective versions of these awards.

See Hugo Award Categories for a more detailed discussion of the categories. The technical definitions of the categories are in the version of the WSFS Constitution in effect for the 2018 Worldcon, and those technical definitions take priority in case of any ambiguity. Decisions regarding eligibility are made by the current year’s Hugo Administration Subcommittee, whose decisions are final in all cases.