1946 Retro-Hugo Awards

1946 Retro Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: L.A. Con III, Anaheim, California, August 29 – September 2, 1996


Base design: Barry Workman, Mike Donahue and Shawn Crosby

Awards Administration: Mike Glyer, David Bratman, Seth Goldberg

Best Novel

  • The Mule by Isaac Asimov [Astounding Nov,Dec 1945]
  • The World of Null-A by A. E. van Vogt [Astounding Aug,Sep,Oct 1945]
  • That Hideous Strength (alt: The Tortured Planet (1958 US)) by C. S. Lewis [John Lane, 1946]
  • Destiny Times Three by Fritz Leiber [Astounding Mar,Apr 1945]
  • Red Sun of Danger (alt: Danger Planet) by Brett Sterling (aka: Edmond Hamilton) [Startling Spr 1945]

Best Novella

  • Animal Farm by George Orwell [Secker & Warburg, 1946]
  • “The Dead Hand” by Isaac Asimov [Astounding Apr 1945]
  • “Giant Killer” by A. Bertram Chandler [Astounding Oct 1945]
  • “I Remember Lemuria!” by Richard S. Shaver [Amazing Mar 1945]

Best Novelette

  • “First Contact” by Murray Leinster [Astounding May 1945]
  • “Pi in the Sky” by Fredric Brown [Thrilling Wonder Win 1945]
  • “Into Thy Hands” by Lester del Rey [Astounding Aug 1945]
  • “The Mixed Men” (alt: “Mission to the Stars”) by A. E. van Vogt [Astounding Jan 1945]
  • “The Piper’s Son” by Lewis Padgett (aka: Henry Kuttner and C. L. Moore) [Astounding Feb 1945]

Best Short Story

  • “Uncommon Sense” by Hal Clement [Astounding Sep 1945]
  • “The Ethical Equations” by Murray Leinster [Astounding Jun 1945]
  • “The Waveries” by Fredric Brown [Astounding Jan 1945]
  • “What You Need” by Lewis Padgett (aka: Henry Kuttner and C. L. Moore) [Astounding Oct 1945]
  • “Correspondence Course” by Raymond F. Jones [Astounding Apr 1945]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • The Picture of Dorian Gray (1945) [MGM] Written and directed by Albert Lewin; based on the novel by Oscar Wilde
  • Blithe Spirit (1945) [UA] Directed by David Lean; Written by Noel Coward, Anthony Havelock-Allan, David Lean and Ronald Neame; based on the play by Noel Coward
  • The Body Snatcher (1945) [RKO] Directed by Robert Wise; Written by Philip MacDonald and Val Lewton; based on the story by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • House of Dracula (1945) [Universal] Directed by Erle C. Kenton; Written by Edward T. Lowe, Jr.
  • The Horn Blows at Midnight (1945) [Warner Brothers] Directed by Raoul Walsh; Written by Sam Hellman and James V. Kern

Best Professional Editor

  • John W. Campbell, Jr. (Astounding Science Fiction)
  • Donald A. Wollheim
  • Raymond A. Palmer (Amazing)
  • Sam Merwin, Jr. (Thrilling Wonder Stories / Startling Stories)

Best Professional Artist

  • Virgil Finlay
  • Hannes Bok
  • Frank R. Paul
  • Edd Cartier
  • Earle K. Bergey

Best Fanzine

  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation ed. by Forrest J Ackerman
  • Chanticleer ed. by Walt Liebscher
  • Shangri L’Affaires ed. by Charles E. Burbee and Gerald Hewitt
  • The Acolyte ed. by Francis Towner Laney and Russell
  • Fantasy Commentator ed. by A. Langley Searles

Best Fan Writer

  • Forrest J Ackerman
  • Wilson Tucker
  • Charles E. Burbee
  • Art Widner
  • Francis Towner Laney

Best Fan Artist

  • William Rotsler
  • Alva Rogers
  • Joe Gibson
  • Lou Goldstone, Jr.
  • Jack Wiedenbeck

Further detail