2000 Hugo Awards

2000 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Chicon 2000, Chicago, Illinois, August 31 – September 4, 2000

Toastmaster: Harry Turtledove

Base design: Johnna Klukas

Awards Administration: Michael Nelson, Covert Beach, Robert MacIntosh, Tom Veal, Mike Jencevice, Becky Thomson

1,101 final ballots (475 electronic and 626 paper) were cast by the members of Chicon 2000, of which 30 were invalid, for a total of 1,071 valid final ballots.

The nominating details released after the ceremony did not disclose the number of nominating ballots cast in any category.

Best Novel

  • A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge [Tor, 1999]
  • A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold [Baen, 1999]
  • Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson [Avon, 1999]
  • Darwin’s Radio by Greg Bear [HarperCollins UK, 1999; Ballantine Del Rey, 1999]
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling [Bloomsbury, 1999; Scholastic, 1999]

Best Novella

  • “The Winds of Marble Arch” by Connie Willis [Asimov’s Oct/Nov 1999]
  • “Forty, Counting Down” by Harry Turtledove [Asimov’s Dec 1999]
  • “The Astronaut from Wyoming” by Adam-Troy Castro and Jerry Oltion [Analog Jul/Aug 1999]
  • “Hunting the Snark” by Mike Resnick [Asimov’s Dec 1999]
  • “Son, Observe the Time” by Kage Baker [Asimov’s May 1999]

Best Novelette

  • “1016 to 1″ by James Patrick Kelly [Asimov’s Jun 1999]
  • “Stellar Harvest” by Eleanor Arnason [Asimov’s Apr 1999]
  • “Border Guards” by Greg Egan [Interzone #148 Oct 1999]
  • “The Secret History of the Ornithopter” by Jan Lars Jensen [F&SF Jun 1999]
  • “Fossil Games” by Tom Purdom [Asimov’s Feb 1999]
  • “The Chop Girl” by Ian R. MacLeod [Asimov’s Dec 1999]

Best Short Story

  • “Scherzo with Tyrannosaur” by Michael Swanwick [Asimov’s Jul 1999]
  • “Ancient Engines” by Michael Swanwick [Asimov’s Feb 1999]
  • “Hothouse Flowers” by Mike Resnick [Asimov’s Oct/Nov 1999]
  • “macs” by Terry Bisson [F&SF Oct/Nov 1999]
  • “Sarajevo” by Nick DiChario [F&SF Mar 1999]

Best Related Book

  • Science Fiction of the 20th Century by Frank M. Robinson [Collector’s Press, 1999]
  • The Sandman: The Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman and Yoshitaka Amano [DC/Vertigo, 1999]
  • The Science of Discworld by Terry Pratchett, Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen [Ebury Press, 1999]
  • Spectrum 6: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Fenner, Arnie Fenner and Jim Loehr [Underwood Books, 1999]
  • Minicon 34 Restaurant Guide by Karen Cooper and Bruce Schneier [Rune Press, 1999]

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Galaxy Quest (1999) [DreamWorks SKG] Directed by Dean Parisot; Screenplay by David Howard and Robert Gordon; Story by David Howard
  • The Matrix (1999) [Silver] Directed by Andy Wachowski and Larry Wachowski; Written by Andy Wachowski & Larry Wachowski
  • The Sixth Sense (1999) [Hollywood/Spyglass/Kennedy/Marshall] Directed by M. Night Shyamalan; Written by M. Night Shyamalan
  • Being John Malkovich (1999) [Gramercy/Propaganda/Single Cell] Directed by Spike Jonze; Written by Charlie Kaufmann
  • The Iron Giant (1999) [Warner Brothers] Directed by Brad Bird; Screenplay by Tim McCanlies; Screen Story by Brad Bird; based on the book The Iron Man by Ted Hughes

Best Professional Editor

  • Gardner Dozois
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

  • Michael Whelan
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Don Maitz
  • Jim Burns
  • Donato Giancola

Best Semiprozine

  • Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
  • Interzone ed. by David Pringle
  • Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell and Kevin J. Maroney
  • Speculations ed. by Kent Brewster

Best Fanzine

  • File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
  • Mimosa ed. by Nicki Lynch and Richard Lynch
  • Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
  • Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies and Mike Scott
  • Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III

Best Fan Writer

  • Dave Langford
  • Mike Glyer
  • Evelyn C. Leeper
  • Steven H Silver
  • Bob Devney

Best Fan Artist

  • Joe Mayhew
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Freddie Baer
  • Taral Wayne

2000 Hugo Award Final ballot voting details

Further detail