1951 Retro-Hugo Awards

1951 Retro Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: The Millennium Philcon, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, August 30 – September 3, 2001


Base design:

Awards Administration: Saul Jaffe, Rick Katze

Best Novel

  • Farmer in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein [Boy’s Life Aug,Sep,Oct,Nov 1950; Scribner’s, 1950]
  • Pebble in the Sky by Isaac Asimov [Doubleday, 1950]
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis [Geoffrey Bles, 1950]
  • First Lensman by Edward E. Smith [Fantasy Press, 1950]
  • The Dying Earth by Jack Vance [Hillman, 1950]

Best Novella

  • “The Man Who Sold the Moon” by Robert A. Heinlein [The Man Who Sold the Moon, 1950]
  • “The Dreaming Jewels” (alt: “Synthetic Man”) by Theodore Sturgeon [Fantastic Adventures Feb 1950]
  • “…And Now You Don’t” by Isaac Asimov [Astounding Nov,Dec 1949,Jan 1950]
  • “The Last Enemy” by H. Beam Piper [Astounding Aug 1950]
  • “To the Stars” by L. Ron Hubbard [Astounding Feb,Mar 1950]

Best Novelette

  • “The Little Black Bag” by C. M. Kornbluth [Astounding Jul 1950]
  • “Scanners Live in Vain” by Cordwainer Smith [Fantasy Book #6, 1950]
  • “The Helping Hand” by Poul Anderson [Astounding May 1950]
  • “Okie” by James Blish [Astounding Apr 1950]
  • “Dear Devil” by Eric Frank Russell [Other Worlds May 1950]

Best Short Story

  • “To Serve Man” by Damon Knight [Galaxy Nov 1950]
  • “Coming Attraction” by Fritz Leiber [Galaxy Nov 1950]
  • “Born of Man and Woman” by Richard Matheson [F&SF Sum 1950]
  • “A Subway Named Mobius” by A. J. Deutsch [Astounding Dec 1950]
  • “The Gnurrs Come from the Voodvork Out” by Reginald Bretnor [F&SF Win/Spr 1950]

Best Related Book

  • Insufficient Nominations – Not on the ballot

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Destination Moon (1950) [George Pal Productions] Directed by Irving Pichel; Screenplay by Alford Van Ronkel and Robert A. Heinlein and James O’Hanlon; based on the novel Rocketship Galileo by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Harvey (1950) [Universal] Directed by Henry Koster; Screenplay by Mary Chase, Oscar Brodney and Myles Connolly; based on the play by Mary Chase
  • Cinderella (1950) [Disney] Directed by Clyde Geronimi, Wilfred Jackson and Hamilton Luske; Written by Ken Anderson, Homer Brightman, Winston Hibler, Bill Peet, Erdman Penner, Harry Reeves, Joe Rinaldi and Ted Sears; based on the story “Cendrillon” by Charles Perrault
  • Rabbit of Seville (1950) [Warner Brothers] Directed by Chuck Jones; Story by Michael Maltese
  • Rocketship X-M (1950) [Lippert Pictures] Directed by Kurt Neumann; Written by Kurt Neumann, Dalton Trumbo and Orville H. Hampton

Best Professional Editor

  • John W. Campbell, Jr. (Astounding Science Fiction)
  • Anthony Boucher
  • H. L. Gold
  • Groff Conklin
  • J. Francis McComas

Best Professional Artist

  • Kelly Freas
  • Chesley Bonestell
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Edd Cartier
  • Hannes Bok

Best Semi-Prozine

  • Insufficient Nominations – Not on the ballot

Best Fanzine

  • Science Fiction Newsletter ed. by Bob Tucker (aka: Wilson Tucker)
  • Slant ed. by Walter Willis and art editor James White
  • Quandry ed. by Lee Hoffman
  • Sky Hook ed. by Redd Boggs
  • Spacewarp ed. by Art Rapp
  • The Fanscient ed. by Donald B. Day

Best Fan Writer

  • Robert Silverberg
  • Bob Tucker (aka: Wilson Tucker)
  • James White
  • Walter A. Willis
  • Lee Hoffman

Best Fan Artist

  • Jack Gaughan
  • Bill Rotsler (aka: William Rotsler)
  • James White
  • Lee Hoffman
  • Ray Nelson

For the full breakdown of voting and nomination see here (PDF).

Further detail