2009 Hugo Award Winners Announced

2009 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Anticipation, Montréal, Quebec, August 6-10, 2009

Toastmaster: Julie Czerneda, with translation by Yves Meynard

Base design: Dave Howell

Awards Administration: Diane Lacey, Ruth Lichtwardt, Jeff Orth and Rene Walling

  • Best Novel: The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins; Bloomsbury UK)
  • Best Novella: “The Erdmann Nexus”, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s Oct/Nov 2008)
  • Best Novelette: “Shoggoths in Bloom”, Elizabeth Bear (Asimov’s Mar 2008)
  • Best Short Story: “Exhalation”, Ted Chiang (Eclipse Two)
  • Best Related Book: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008, John Scalzi (Subterranean Press)
  • Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones, Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: WALL-E Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter, story; Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon, screenplay; Andrew Stanton, director (Pixar/Walt Disney)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director (Mutant Enemy)
  • Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow
  • Best Editor Long Form: David G. Hartwell
  • Best Professional Artist: Donato Giancola
  • Best Semiprozine: Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal
  • Best Fan Writer: Cheryl Morgan
  • Best Fanzine: Electric Velocipede edited by John Klima
  • Best Fan Artist: Frank Wu

And the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines): David Anthony Durham

The full order of finish in each category and links to the nomination and voting details are available on the 2009 Hugo Awards page.

66 thoughts on “2009 Hugo Award Winners Announced

  1. I extend my warmest congratulations to Neil Gaiman for winning the Hugo Award for Best Novel. ‘The Graveyard Book’, a classic bildungsroman which echoes the works of many literary giants, is definitely worthy of this highest honor.

  2. [Comment deleted. You can disagree with the results. Being abusive gets you banned. — The Management]

  3. Maybe I’m just old school and don’t “get it.” I’ve never heard of ANY of the winners (nor their authors, for that matter.)

  4. @Dave Jared
    Perhaps you were looking in the wrong aisle in the bookstore? Or reading authors from a different decade?

    Neil Gaiman first won a Hugo in 2002.
    Nancy Kress first won a Hugo in 1992.
    Elizabeth Bear first won a Hugo last year.
    Ted Chiang first won a Hugo in 2001.

    So it’s not like these writers haven’t been a part of the field for years.

  5. Pingback: The Daily Planet

Comments are closed.