2020/1945 Hugo Award Finalists to be Announced April 8 NZ / April 7 Americas & Europe

CoNZealand, the 78th World Science Fiction Convention, will announce the finalists for the 2020 Hugo Awards and 1945 Retrospective Hugo Awards on Wednesday, April 8, 2020 at 8 AM NZST, which is Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 9 PM British Summer Time, 4 PM Eastern Daylight Time, and 1 PM Pacific Daylight Time. Take note of the times: the announcement will be on the afternoon of April 7 in the Americas, the evening of April 7 in Europe, and the morning of April 8 in New Zealand.

Nominations for the 2020 and 1945 Hugo Awards were submitted by the members of CoNZealand, the 78th Worldcon, and Dublin 2019: An Irish Worldcon, the 77th Worldcon. 1,584 people submitted 27,033 nominations for the 2020 Hugo Awards, while 120 people submitted 1,677 nominations for the 1945 Retrospective Hugo Awards.

CoNZealand intends to live-stream their finalist announcements on the CoNZealand YouTube Channel starting at the times listed above.

2020/1945 Hugo Award Base Designers Announced

CoNZealand, the 78th World Science Fiction Convention, has announced the two New Zealand artists who they have selected to design the 2020 Hugo Award and 1945 Retrospective Hugo Award trophy bases.

Worldcons are required to use the standardized rocket topping the Hugo Award trophy, but each Worldcon designs their own bases. CoNZealand invited New Zealand-based artists to submit base designs. Five designers submitted proposals, and two were selected to design the bases for the trophies to be presented by this year’s Worldcon. John Flower will design the 2020 Hugo Awards trophy base, and James Brown will design the 1945 Retrospective Hugo Award trophy base.

The iconic rocket ship atop the Hugo Award trophy originally designed by Jack McKnight and Ben Jason and refined and standardized by Peter Weston is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society. This registered rocket ship design may only be used on Hugo Awards and may not be used on other awards presented by WSFS.

The announcement from CoNZealand follows:
Continue reading