2022 Hugo Award and Lodestar Award Designers Announced

Chicon 8, the 2022 World Science Fiction Convention, has announced who will design the 2022 Hugo Award base and the 2022 Lodestar Award. The Hugo Award trophy consists of the rocket designed by Jack McKnight and Ben Jason and refined by Peter Weston, with the design of each year’s base determined by the individual Worldcon committee. The information from Chicon 8’s announcement follows below.

The 2022 Hugo Award base will be designed by Brian Keith Ellison, owner of BKE Designs, Inc., a full service, Chicago based corporation that provides custom wood furniture design and fabrication services for corporate, commercial, and residential clients as well as public and private art. Ellison is academically trained as an architect and practiced real estate development for approximately 20 years. During his transition to furniture design and fabrication, he relocated to Amsterdam from 2006-2008. In 2015, he appeared in 8 out of the 10 episodes of “FRAMEWORK”, a SPIKE TV furniture design-based reality competition. BK is actively involved with the improvement of community social issues. He is also a life-long fan of science fiction and is extremely honored to be the designer of the 2022 Hugo Award base.

The 2022 Lodestar Award will be designed by Sara Felix, a mixed media artist who lives in Austin, Texas. She is the current president of the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists, and created the 2018 WSFS Young Adult Award, the 2018 and 2016 Hugo Award bases, and the Lodestar Award from 2019-2021.

Artist websites:

Brian K. Ellison (Hugo Awards)

Sara Felix (Lodestar Award)

Any questions about the administration of the 2022 Hugo Awards should be directed to hugo-help@chicon.org.

The 80th World Science Fiction Convention, Chicon 8, will take place in Chicago, Illinois, USA from 1-5 September 2022. For more information about the convention, including current membership rates, visit http://chicon.org. All media releases are available at http://chicon.org/home/about-worldcon/press-and-media/. Follow us on Twitter at @chicagoworldcon.

4 thoughts on “2022 Hugo Award and Lodestar Award Designers Announced

    1. Darren: To become a member, you join the current year’s World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon). See the links to Future Worldcons on our page.

  1. I would like to become a member, how do I do that and does this cost money?

Comments are closed.