2022 Hugo Award and Lodestar Award Designers Announced

Chicon 8, the 2022 World Science Fiction Convention, has announced who will design the 2022 Hugo Award base and the 2022 Lodestar Award. The Hugo Award trophy consists of the rocket designed by Jack McKnight and Ben Jason and refined by Peter Weston, with the design of each year’s base determined by the individual Worldcon committee. The information from Chicon 8’s announcement follows below.

Continue reading

1945 Retro-Hugo and 2020 Hugo Award Trophy Designs Revealed

The trophies for the 1945 Retrospective Hugo Awards and 2020 Hugo Awards were unveiled as part of the CoNZealand opening ceremonies on 29 Jul 2020 (NZST)

1945 Retrospective Hugo Award Trophy designed by James Brown

2020 Hugo Award Trophy designed by John Flower

Click through the photos above to see the artists’ discussion about their designs as revealed during the CoNZealand opening ceremonies.

The 1945 Retrospective Hugo Awards and the Sir Julius Vogel Awards for New Zealand speculative fiction will be presented online at CoNZealand at 11:00, Thursday 30 Jul 2020 New Zealand Standard Time. This ceremony will be available live only to those members of CoNZealand attending online.

The 2020 Hugo Awards, Lodestar Award for Best YA Book, and Astounding Award for Best New Writer will be presented online at CoNZealand at 11:00, Saturday 1 Aug 2020 New Zealand Standard Time. The Ceremony will be streamed live online (no CoNZealand membership necessary) on The Fantasy Network.

You can use web sites like TimeAndDate to convert local time in New Zealand to local time elsewhere.

2020/1945 Hugo Award Base Designers Announced

CoNZealand, the 78th World Science Fiction Convention, has announced the two New Zealand artists who they have selected to design the 2020 Hugo Award and 1945 Retrospective Hugo Award trophy bases.

Worldcons are required to use the standardized rocket topping the Hugo Award trophy, but each Worldcon designs their own bases. CoNZealand invited New Zealand-based artists to submit base designs. Five designers submitted proposals, and two were selected to design the bases for the trophies to be presented by this year’s Worldcon. John Flower will design the 2020 Hugo Awards trophy base, and James Brown will design the 1945 Retrospective Hugo Award trophy base.

The iconic rocket ship atop the Hugo Award trophy originally designed by Jack McKnight and Ben Jason and refined and standardized by Peter Weston is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Society. This registered rocket ship design may only be used on Hugo Awards and may not be used on other awards presented by WSFS.

The announcement from CoNZealand follows:
Continue reading

The 2018 Hugo Award Trophy

The trophy for this year’s Hugo Awards was unveiled as part of the Worldcon 76 opening ceremonies. The base design is by Sara Felix and Vincent Villafranca. Here’s a close-up of the base.

This year’s Hugo Award winners will be announced on Sunday night (California time). For details of our live coverage see here.

Retro-Hugo Photo Update

This photograph of Worldcon 76 Chair, Kevin Roche, pictured with his husband, Andy Trembley, gives a much better view of the tower behind the rocket. The design is based on the San José Electric Light Tower.

The base of the trophy is made from cherry wood because cherries were a major crop in San José before the advent of Silicon Valley.

Peter Weston, The Hugo Award Rocket Man (1943-2017)

Peter Weston with a Hugo Award rocket Peter Weston, the man who created the current version of the iconic Hugo Award rocket, died on January 5, 2017, aged 73, according to a report published by Locus Online today. Although each Worldcon designs its own Hugo Award trophy base, since 1984, all metal Hugo Award trophy rockets have been cast from a mold created by Weston at the foundry he owned. (Non-metallic trophies followed the same design but were constructed using a different process.)

Weston gave presentations about the making of Hugo Award rockets and made the presentation available to The Hugo Awards web site for us to preserve here. The World Science Fiction Society recognized Weston’s contributions to the Hugo Award by including his name in the WSFS Constitution after the original designers of the Hugo Award trophy, Jack McKnight and Ben Jason.

Besides his contributions to the Hugo Awards, Weston chaired the 1979 Worldcon in Brighton, UK, and was Fan Guest of Honor at the 2004 Worldcon. He edited anthologies and was a finalist for the 2005 Hugo Award for Best Related Work for his memoir, Stars in My Eyes: My Adventures in British Fandom.

2016, 1941 Hugo Award Base Designers Announced

MidAmeriCon II, the 2016 Worldcon, announced on June 13 via their Twitter feed that they have selected designers for the 2016 Hugo Award and 1941 Retrospective Hugo Award trophy bases. Sara Felix (president of the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists) will design the 2016 Hugo Award base and Brent Simmons will design the 1941 Retro-Hugo Award base.

The Hugo Award trophy consists of a standard rocket design on a base. Each Worldcon is responsible for the bases for the Awards presented at their convention. In recent years, the design has been selected through an open competition judged by the current Worldcon committee.

Both the 2016 and 1941 bases will be revealed on August 17, 2016 at the opening ceremonies of MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO. The trophies will be on display throughout the weekend at the convention. The 1941 Retrospective Hugo Awards will be presented on Thursday, August 18, 2016 during the Retro-Hugo Swing Dance/Ceremony at MidAmeriCon II. The 2016 Hugo Awards will be presented at a ceremony on the evening of Saturday, August 20, 2016 at MidAmeriCon II.

2016 Hugo Award Base Competition Announced

The 2016 World Science Fiction Convention (“MidAmericon II”) has announced an open competition to design the base of the 2016 Hugo Award. The deadline for submitting a proposed design is January 18, 2016.

The Hugo Award trophy consists of a rocket design standardized since 1984 on a design by Peter Weston and registered as a service mark by the World Science Fiction Society. Worldcon committees design the base, and most recent Worldcons have conducted competitions to select a design.

Full details including the specifications and submission guidelines, are on the 2016 Worldcon web site. Direct any questions about the competition to the 2016 Hugo Base Competition Subcommittee, not to the Hugo Awards web site.