Nominations Open for the 2024 Hugo Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2024 Hugo Awards, Lodestar Award, and Astounding Award for Best New Writer. Direct all questions about the 2024 Hugo Awards to the 2024 Hugo Award Administrators.

The 2024 Hugo Awards are administered by the 2024 Worldcon. The Hugo Awards are not administered by the Hugo Awards website. For more information, see the 2024 Worldcon’s announcement on their website and reproduced below.

Media Release
Glasgow 2024 – A Worldcon for our Futures
August 8th-12th, 2024

For further information contact or call Owen Duffy on 07460 341 549

Saturday, 27th January, 2024 – For Immediate Release

Nominations Open for the 2024 Hugo Awards

Glasgow 2024 is delighted to announce that nominations are now open for the 2024 Hugo Awards, Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and Astounding Award for Best New Writer. The nomination period will close at 4.00 p.m. Glasgow time on Saturday, March 9th, 2024.

Glasgow 2024 will administer the eighteen Hugo Award categories specified in the WSFS Constitution. This will include the Hugo Award for Best Game or Interactive Work, which is being presented for the first time this year. (A category of Best Video Game was previously presented in 2021 on a trial basis). Glasgow 2024 will also administer the ballots for the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, presented by the World Science Fiction Society, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer, presented by Dell Magazines. There will be no special category Hugo Award in 2024.

Nominations can be submitted by all individuals who hold WSFS Memberships in either the 2023 (Chengdu) or 2024 (Glasgow) Worldcons as of 11.59 p.m. Glasgow time on January 31st, 2024. To facilitate the participation of 2023 Worldcon members, many of who are Chinese-language speakers, we will be making the nominating ballot available in Chinese as well as English.

More information about the Hugo Awards, including full instructions on how to complete and submit a nominating ballot can be found on the Glasgow 2024 website. We have also provided a PDF version of the paper nominating ballot which can be downloaded by members who prefer to submit their nominations by postal mail. All ballots, whether submitted electronically or by postal mail, must be received by the deadline of 4.00 p.m. Glasgow time on Saturday, March 9th, 2024.

Instructions have also been sent to all eligible WSFS Members by email, using the email address associated with their membership. We encourage members to check their junk/spam/promotions folders for this email if you do not appear to have received it. Despite our best efforts, voter notification messages may be flagged as spam by some email systems. Worldcon members who are uncertain of their status or who experience problems with the online nominating form should contact us at

The Hugo Awards are fan-run, fan-given, and fan-supported. We encourage all eligible members to nominate whatever works and creators you have personally read or seen that were your favourites from 2023. The works and creators with sufficient nominations will move onto the final ballot for the 2024 Hugo Awards, which will be announced later this year after the close of nominations. At that time we will also publish the reasons for any disqualifications of potential finalists, and any withdrawals of potential finalists from the ballot.

While members of both the 2023 and 2024 Worldcons can nominate for the 2024 Awards, only members of the 2024 Worldcon are eligible to vote on the final ballot. If you are not yet a member of Glasgow 2024, see our Membership Page for information about joining the convention.

Any questions about the administration of the 2024 Hugo Awards should be directed to

About the Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards are the most prestigious award in the science fiction genre, honouring science fiction literature and media as well as fan activities. The Awards were first presented in 1953 and have been awarded every year since 1955 by the members of the World Science Fiction Society (Worldcon members) at the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon).

Eligible Worldcon members are encouraged to nominate up to five works/individuals that they believe are worthy of a Hugo Award in each category. The six most popular nominees in each category then appear on the final voting ballot, with the winners being announced at a formal ceremony to be held in Glasgow on the evening of Sunday 11th August. Full voting results will be published at that time.


“World Science Fiction Society”, “WSFS”, “World Science Fiction Convention”, “Worldcon”, “NASFiC”, “Hugo Award”, the Hugo Award Logo, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Trophy Rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

The 82nd World Science Fiction Convention, Glasgow 2024, will take place in Glasgow, UK from 8-12 August 2024. For more information about the convention, including current membership rates, visit Find us on social media at @Glasgowin2024.

4 thoughts on “Nominations Open for the 2024 Hugo Awards

  1. Why bother nominating anyone when you all are simply going to ignore votes & disqualify anyone you disagree with? The prestige of the Hugo Awards have been permanently damaged by the mishandling of the issues with the location of the ceremony & purposeful elimination of qualified nominees. Explanations were hollow & meaningless. Staff was downright arrogant & rude to anyone who questioned them – Dave McCarty in particular. I will no longer support or invest my time in what is now a meaningless exercise. Shameful & embarrassing.

  2. I don’t agree that future Hugos will necessarily be meaningless, but I do think that the Society must point out here that last year’s supposed nominations by the convention were incorrect, and hence the awards need a disclaimer. I’d also like to see a premature Retro Hugo ballot for last year, based on genuine nominees.

  3. Committees sometimes have the authority for extended eligibility, e.g. Steven Cooper’s Asimov bibliography in 2021. Works which received the necessary nominations but which were incorrectly excluded from one year’s Hugo ballot might be eligible for the following year. (BTW, if a committee does this, please let the potential nominee know. Mr Cooper didn’t find out until I congratulated him.)

Comments are closed.