2012 Hugo Awards

2012 Hugo Award Trophy

Presented at: Chicon 7, Chicago, Illinois, USA on September 2, 2012

Toastmaster: John Scalzi

Base design: Deb Kosiba

Awards Administration: Diane Lacey, Jeff Orth, David Gallaher, John Platt, Helen Montgomery


1,101 valid nominating ballots were received. 1,922 valid final ballots were cast.
For the full breakdown of voting and nomination see here (PDF).

Video recording of the 2012 Hugo Awards Ceremony courtesy of Chicon 7.

Best Novel

  • Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan / Del Rey)
  • Leviathan Wakes, James S. A. Corey (Orbit)
  • Deadline, Mira Grant (Orbit)
  • A Dance With Dragons, George R. R. Martin (Bantam Spectra)

Best Novella

  • “The Man Who Bridged the Mist”, Kij Johnson (Asimov’s)
  • “Kiss Me Twice”, Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s)
  • Silently and Very Fast, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA)
  • “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary”, Ken Liu (Panverse 3)
  • Countdown, Mira Grant (Orbit)
  • “The Ice Owl”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

Note: 6 nominees due to tie for final position.

Best Novelette

  • “Six Months, Three Days”, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor.com)
  • “Ray of Light”, Brad R. Torgersen (Analog)
  • “The Copenhagen Interpretation”, Paul Cornell (Asimov’s)
  • “What We Found”, Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)
  • “Fields of Gold”, Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse Four)

Best Short Story

  • “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld)
  • “The Homecoming”, Mike Resnick (Asimov’s)
  • “Movement”, Nancy Fulda (Asimov’s)
  • “Shadow War of the Night Dragons: Book One: The Dead City: Prologue”, John Scalzi (Tor.com)

Best Related Work

  • The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition, edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls, and Graham Sleight (Gollancz)
  • The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature, Jeff VanderMeer and S. J. Chambers (Abrams Image)
  • Wicked Girls (CD), Seanan McGuire
  • Writing Excuses, Season 6 (podcast series), Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Howard Tayler, Mary Robinette Kowal, and Jordan Sanderson
  • Jar Jar Binks Must Die…and other Observations about Science Fiction Movies, Daniel M. Kimmel (Fantastic Books)

Best Graphic Story

  • Digger, by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press)
  • Fables Vol 15: Rose Red, by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
  • Locke & Key Volume 4: Keys To The Kingdom, written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)
  • Schlock Mercenary: Force Multiplication, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (The Tayler Corporation)
  • The Unwritten (Volume 4): Leviathan, created by Mike Carey and Peter Gross, written by Mike Carey, illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Game of Thrones (Season 1), created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss;
    written by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, and George R. R. Martin; directed by Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten, and Alan Taylor (HBO)
  • Hugo, screenplay by John Logan; directed by Martin Scorsese (Paramount)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephan McFeely; directed by Joe Johnston (Marvel)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner Bros.)
  • Source Code, screenplay by Ben Ripley; directed by Duncan Jones (Vendome Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • Doctor Who, ”The Doctor’s Wife”, written by Neil Gaiman; directed by Richard Clark (BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who, ”The Girl Who Waited”, written by Tom MacRae; directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who, ”A Good Man Goes to War”, written by Steven Moffat; directed by Peter Hoar (BBC Wales)
  • Community, ”Remedial Chaos Theory”, written by Dan Harmon and Chris McKenna; directed by Jeff Melman (NBC)
  • The Drink Tank’s Hugo Acceptance Speech”, Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon (Renovation)

Best Editor, Short Form

  • Sheila Williams
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Neil Clarke
  • Stanley Schmidt

Best Editor, Long Form

  • Betsy Wollheim
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Lou Anders
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Anne Lesley Groell

Best Professional Artist

  • John Picacio
  • Stephan Martiniere
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Dan dos Santos
  • Michael Komarck

Best Semiprozine

  • Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.
  • Apex Magazine, edited by Catherynne M. Valente, Lynne M. Thomas, and Jason Sizemore
  • Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • New York Review of Science Fiction, edited by David G. Hartwell, Kevin J. Maroney, Kris Dikeman, and Avram Grumer

Best Fanzine

  • SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo
  • The Drink Tank, edited by James Bacon and Christopher J Garcia
  • File 770, edited by Mike Glyer
  • Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
  • Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, et al.

Best Fan Writer

  • Jim C. Hines
  • Steven H Silver
  • Claire Brialey
  • Christopher J. Garcia
  • James Bacon

Note: Hines, in his acceptance speech, recused himself permanently from future consideration in this category.

Best Fan Artist

  • Maurine Starkey
  • Steve Stiles
  • Randall Munroe
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Taral Wayne

Note: 6 nominees due to tie for final position.

Best Fancast

  • SF Squeecast, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, and Catherynne M. Valente
  • SF Signal Podcast, John DeNardo and JP Frantz (presenters), Patrick Hester (producer)
  • StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
  • Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts (presenters) and Andrew Finch (producer)

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • E. Lily Yu*
  • Brad R. Torgersen*
  • Karen Lord*
  • Mur Lafferty
  • Stina Leicht

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.


173 thoughts on “2012 Hugo Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.