2010 Hugo Award Winners

2010 Hugo Award Trophy Presented at: Aussiecon 4, Melbourne, Australia, September 2-6, 2010

Toastmaster: Garth Nix

Base design: Nick Stathopoulos with laser etching by Lewis Morley and incorporating the Aussiecon 4 logo by Grant Gittus

Awards Administration: Vincent Docherty, Kate Kligman

  • Best Novel: TIE: The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK); The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)
  • Best Novella: “Palimpsest”, Charles Stross (Wireless; Ace, Orbit)
  • Best Novelette: “The Island”, Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2; Eos)
  • Best Short Story: “Bridesicle”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 1/09)
  • Best Related Work: This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is “I”), Jack Vance (Subterranean)
  • Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm Written by Kaja and Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Moon Screenplay by Nathan Parker; Story by Duncan Jones; Directed by Duncan Jones (Liberty Films)
  • Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars” Written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; Directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales)
  • Best Editor Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow
  • Best Professional Artist: Shaun Tan
  • Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & Cheryl Morgan
  • Best Fan Writer: Frederik Pohl
  • Best Fanzine: StarShipSofa edited by Tony C. Smith
  • Best Fan Artist: Brad W. Foster

And the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines): Seanan McGuire

The full breakdown of voting will appear here as soon as we get the data from Aussiecon 4.

65 thoughts on “2010 Hugo Award Winners

  1. Correction needed to this list: the Editor winners are currently flipped. Ellen Datlow was nomiated for and won Best Editor Short Form and Patrick Nielsen Hayden was nominated for and won Best Editor Long Form.

  2. To all the winners, congratulations! To all the nominees, fans and everyone who makes wsfs possible, thanks. Special gratitude and delighted kudos to Clarkesworld and StarShipSofa!

  3. Happy for those I know and for those that I don’t know. Those I know are vry good ones.

  4. Congratulations to Seanan McGuire on winning the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.
    I think you made an error in your announcement for Best Novella… Palimpsest was written by Catherine M Valente, not Charles Stross.

  5. Cara:

    This is no mistake. Review the 2010 Hugo Nominees: there were two nominees named “Palimpsest” — one was a novel by Catherine M Valente, while the other was novella by Charles Stross. It was the Stross novella that won the Hugo.

  6. I am incredibly gratified to see this wonderful recognition for Paolo Bacigalupi and all his hard work. Congratulations to him and all of the winners. Well done!!

  7. Congratulations to Jack Vance(94 years young) and Fred Pohl(90 years young) for winning their respective Hugos! Thanks again to you both for showing the rest of us what it means to be a writer. It is one of my greatest honors to have met and talked to you both.
    Have two authors in their 90’s ever won a Hugo the same year?

Comments are closed.